View By Subject

116 fatwas

  • Working in Ice-Cream Shop Where Ice-Cream Flavors Have Alcohol in Them Date: 22-4-2021

    SalamI work at an ice-cream shop where two ice cream flavours have alcohol in them. I was wondering if the money I get from this shop is halal or haram considering these items have alcohol in them. .. More

  • Fermented Sugarcane and Erythritol in Food Date: 12-2-2021

    Alsalam Alikom Is Fermented sugarcane Reb MAnd Erythritol halal to consume.Jazakum Allah khairan .. More

  • Nabeeth Is Lawful to Consume Provided It Is Fermented for Less Than 3 Days Date: 5-12-2020

    Assalamu’alaykumWhat is the ruling on consuming nabidh from soaked grapes/dates/any other fruit that has been fermented for over 3 days? We usually soaked some fruit with water and let them to be fermented for several days until a foam/froth formed on top of the fluid, then using it as a natural yeast for bread leavening agent (as a substitution for.. More

  • Kit Kat Chocolate Containing Ethyl Alcohol Date: 17-3-2020

    Assalamu Alaykum Kitkat which is a nestle product uses ethyl alcohol that does not exceed 1% of the final product. They use the ethyl alcohol as a carrier (to carry flavour). It’s possible that there may be some very small amounts of alcohol left in the final product. The alcohol is not a fermentable or drinking alcohol. The company says that during.. More

  • Throwing Part of The Food That Is Impure Date: 10-11-2019

    Is it permissible to throw food that is contamined with impurity, if it is not possible to clean it?. Or maybe just throw the part that is contamined .. More

  • Vinegar Deliberately Made from Khamr Is Impure Date: 11-9-2019

    I understand that vinegar which is deliberately made from alcohol is haraam for one to consume. But is it also najis? .. More

  • Eating in Restaurants Where Pork is Served Sometimes Date: 2-4-2019

    Is it permissible to eat from a place where pork is served if I only eat from the places that does not serve pork? My university dining hall has several restaurants. These restaurants have pork in their menus on certain days. I only eat from a restaurant if it is not serving pork that day. The cook makes the food in front of us so I dont see cross contaminati.. More

  • Vowed Not to Eat Whey Date: 24-3-2019

    Previously I learnt that majority of scholars held whey is haram. Then due to this I made a vow to Allah swt to avoid it. but now Ive realised its in so many of my favourite foods so can i start eating it again and expiate for it? Salam .. More

  • Eating Food If Not Sure It Is Lawful Date: 26-2-2019

    Asalamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, nowadays there are many foods like sweets or drinks that have certain indregends that can be made from plants but also animals. The problem is that many times it does not say wether it is made out of plants or animal indregends. If i have a drink for example and there is something in it that I am doubtful.. More

  • Eating half-chicken half-vegan pizza in the West Date: 3-1-2018

    Assalaamu alaykum. Someone got me a half-chicken/half-vegan pizza, which was kind, but is having chicken only on half a side while the other side does not have chicken halal? I did not eat the pizza as I think that it is haram, but I am unsure of it. .. More

  • Eating food containing animal fat of unknown origin Date: 31-12-2017

    Assalaamu alaykum. 1. I would like to know if there is a tolerable/permitted quantity or percentage of haram meat or meat extracts in food. There is a tolerance of alcohol up to a "rate of 5 in ten thousand" according to http://www.irfi.org, so does this go for meat too? 2. If the packaging used for a halal food product contains extracts of animal.. More

  • Living off of unlawful earnings of guardian Date: 29-10-2017

    Assalaamu alaykum. I am under the guardianship of my father, and his income is haram, so everything which I eat, drink, or wear is haram, but I have no choice, so I have to live with him. This is only caused by necessity. So should I eat three meals a day, or how much water should I drink, or how many clothes should I wear given that the money is haram?.. More

  • Eating food and then doubting whether it is lawful Date: 29-10-2017

    If I ate unknown food that might be halal or haram, do I have to throw it up? And is doing this haram? Also, if I pray without throwing it up, is my prayer accepted? Sorry, again, Shaykh, for asking more than one question. .. More

  • Carrying groceries that may contain haraam ingredients Date: 13-9-2017

    Some of the food that my family buys contains haram ingredients. Is it wrong for me to help moving the groceries without being sure that the food is halal? .. More

  • Halaal food made in same production line as haraam food Date: 3-9-2017

    Assalaamu alaykum. We would like to inform you that the food outlets in Hong Kong - processing, handling and output - have come across a number of difficulties in accessing halal food. We would like to ask our respectable Islamic scholars the following question: What does Islam say about a situation where the food that we consume is produced in the.. More