Months in the Islamic calendar and celebrating a new Hijri year

  • Author:
  • Publish date:05/12/2010
  • Section:FATWA FOR ALL
  • Rate:
10330 0 558


What are the names of the Islamic months? And what is the Islamic ruling on celebrating the New Hijri Year  and reciting Du'aa at the end of the year (before Maghrib prayer) and reciting Du'a at the New Year (after Maghrib prayer).


All perfect praise be to Allah, The Lord of the Worlds. I testify that there is none worthy of worship except Allah, and that Muhammad is His slave and Messenger.

The lunar/Hijri months are as follows:

1-  Muharram
2-  Safar
3-  Rabee’ Al-Awwal
4-  Rabe'i al-Aakhir
5-  Jumaadaa al-Oulaa
6-  Jumaadaa al-Aakhirah
7-  Rajab
8-  Sha’baan
9-  Ramadan
10- Shawwaal
11- Thul-Qi’dah
12- Thul-Hijjah

As for celebrating the new Hijri year, it is not reported from the Prophet  sallallaahu  `alayhi  wa  sallam ( may  Allah exalt his mention ) that he ever celebrated his Hijrah (migration to Madeenah); neither is this reported from his companions may Allah be pleased with them, who undoubtedly were keen on enjoining the good and getting the most reward possible. The Muslim should follow the Prophet  sallallaahu  `alayhi  wa  sallam ( may  Allah exalt his mention )  and stick to his Sunnah and keep away from innovations in religion.

Moreover, there is no evidence for the Du'a before or after Maghrib prayer at the end or at the beginning of an Islamic year. Forms of worship are limited to those revealed and proved by evidence from the Qur'an or the Sunnah.

Allah Knows best.

Fatwa answered by: The Fatwa Center at Islamweb








Related Articles