Gelatin, glycerin and glycerides
Fatwa No: 82089


I know that gelatin can be either from pigs or from cows, so it is better not to eat anything that has gelatin in it, especially since I am living in the U.S. But I heard that glycerin and glycerides are also Haram, is that really true? I remember seeing those two words in almost every thing I ate, and I thought that they were just chemical substances.


Praise be to Allah, the Lord of the Worlds; and blessings and peace be upon our Prophet Muhammad and upon all his Family and Companions.
Dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine etc. are made forbidden as Allah Says in the Qur'an: (Forbidden to you (for food) are: al-Maytatah (the dead animals-cattle-beast not slaughtered), blood, the flesh of swine, and the meat of that which has been slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allah, or has been slaughtered for Idols etc., or on which Allah's name has not been mentioned while slaughtering, and that which has been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by a the goring of horns - and that which has been (partly) eaten by a wild animal - unless you are able to slaughter it (before its death) - and that which is sacrificed (slaughtered) on An-Nusab (stone-alters). (Forbidden) also is to use arrows seeking luck or decision, (all) that is Fisqun (disobedience of Allah and sin). This day, those who disbelieved have given up all hope of your religion, so fear them not, but fear Me. This day, I have perfected your religion for you, completed My Favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion. But as for him who is forced by sever hunger, with no inclination to sin (such can eat these above mentioned meats), then surely, Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful). [5:3]. In another Surah (Chapter) regarding this, Allah Says (Interpretation of meaning): (Say (O Muhammad) I find not in that which has been inspired to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Mayta (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like) or the flesh of swine (Pork, etc.) for that surely is impure, or impious (unlawful) meat (of an animal) which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allah (or has been slaughtered for Idols, etc.). But whosoever is forced by necessity without willful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits, (for him), certainly, your Lord is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful). [6:145]. In that manner, Allah forbade impure and harmful objects and made lawful every pure and useful object, as He mentioned this while reminding His favor on His slaves by sending the Prophet Muhammad (Blessings and peace of Allah be upon him), He said: (He allows them as lawful at-Taybat (i.e. all good and lawful) as regards things, deeds, beliefs, persons, foods, etc.) and prohibits them as unlawful al-Khabith (i.e. all evil and unlawful as regards thing, deeds, beliefs, persons, foods, etc.) he reloses them from their heavy burdens (of Allah's covenant), and from the fetters ( bindings) that were upon them). [7:157]. Thereupon, you should recognize the ingredients of any thing you want to use. Whatever contains any forbidden thing from the mentioned things, you should avoid it. And whatsoever, does not contain, that is lawful and you may use it. If you had already used any forbidden thing, you should ask forgiveness from Allah. You are not supposed to pay any expiation except making repentance and asking pardon of Allah. Allah knows best.

Related Fatwa