286 fatwas

  • Nabeeth Is Lawful to Consume Provided It Is Fermented for Less Than 3 Days Date: 5-12-2020

    Assalamu’alaykumWhat is the ruling on consuming nabidh from soaked grapes/dates/any other fruit that has been fermented for over 3 days? We usually soaked some fruit with water and let them to be fermented for several days until a foam/froth formed on top of the fluid, then using it as a natural yeast for bread leavening agent (as a substitution for.. More

  • She Became Muslim and Is Embarrassed How to Refuse Parents’ Request for Buying Pork Date: 2-12-2020

    Firstly, I am a revert so my parents are not Muslim they are Catholic. I want to know the ruling on buying pork for my elderly parents when asked? I politely refused to do it and bought the other shopping she requested. But , she asked "why wouldn't you do this for your elderly mother?". It felt wrong to buy the pork but I also feel guilt not helping.. More

  • Hoarding During Pandemics Date: 21-4-2020

    What is the permissible amount that we can store of our daily necessary things like food, groceries, cleaning materials etc for the quarantine period during the Corona virus epidemic? (especially when there is a possibility of running out these things) .. More

  • Kit Kat Chocolate Containing Ethyl Alcohol Date: 17-3-2020

    Assalamu Alaykum Kitkat which is a nestle product uses ethyl alcohol that does not exceed 1% of the final product. They use the ethyl alcohol as a carrier (to carry flavour). It’s possible that there may be some very small amounts of alcohol left in the final product. The alcohol is not a fermentable or drinking alcohol. The company says that during.. More

  • Serving Food That Contains Pork To People Date: 2-3-2020

    Assalamu alaikum, I work at group home where they serve pork. So I told them when I was Starting that I will not make pork. One day I had to Mae their dinner and I t had pork in it. I used gloves and I served it, so did I sin? The main question is Haram to work at this kinda place even when I am not the person serving the pork? Jazakumullahu khayr .. More

  • Preparing Pizza That Contains Pork Date: 2-1-2020

    Salam aleykum wa rahmatullah. May Allah bless and reward you for your efforts. My question is to do with my work. I wear gloves and prepare pizzas in a place that serves pizza to customers but amongst it’s most favourite and popular pizzas are pizzas that have pork on them, i want to know if working in this place is haram and if my income will be.. More

  • Throwing Part of The Food That Is Impure Date: 10-11-2019

    Is it permissible to throw food that is contamined with impurity, if it is not possible to clean it?. Or maybe just throw the part that is contamined .. More

  • Food Cooked in Utensils Obtained with Haram Money Date: 16-9-2019

    Salam aleikum wa rahmatu Llahi wa barakatu. If the ingredients of a food which we cook are bought from halal money , but the tools we use for cooking are achieved from haram money; is the this food haram? .. More

  • Vinegar Deliberately Made from Khamr Is Impure Date: 11-9-2019

    I understand that vinegar which is deliberately made from alcohol is haraam for one to consume. But is it also najis? .. More

  • Eating in Halal Restaurants That Also Serve Non-Halal Meat Date: 28-8-2019

    Assalam Alaikum I am a Muslim living in the United Kingdom. Need to ask about some "Halal" restaurants here, they are serving non-halal beef as well. One of our brothers here told me not to eat there as there is a risk of "cross-contamination", as they might use same knife/tools/grill for halal beef and non-halal beef without washing them. What is.. More

  • Using Medicine that May Contain Doubtful Ingredients Date: 9-5-2019

    Salam aleikum wa rahmatu Llahi wa barakatu. In a lot of medicine there are doubtful ingredients which we not know if they are halal or halal, such as gelatine, magnesium stearate,ecc... It is very difficult to know if it is animal or vegetable origin. Is it halal to take it? We often found them in Muslim countries and sometimes find only ,for some.. More

  • Rennet of Animals Not Slaughtered Islamically Date: 2-4-2019

    If a kaafir has a cheese business where he slaughters animals (improperly) just for their rennet, then is it permissible to get cheese from him? .. More

  • Eating in Restaurants Where Pork is Served Sometimes Date: 2-4-2019

    Is it permissible to eat from a place where pork is served if I only eat from the places that does not serve pork? My university dining hall has several restaurants. These restaurants have pork in their menus on certain days. I only eat from a restaurant if it is not serving pork that day. The cook makes the food in front of us so I dont see cross contaminati.. More

  • Vowed Not to Eat Whey Date: 24-3-2019

    Previously I learnt that majority of scholars held whey is haram. Then due to this I made a vow to Allah swt to avoid it. but now Ive realised its in so many of my favourite foods so can i start eating it again and expiate for it? Salam .. More

  • Eating Food If Not Sure It Is Lawful Date: 26-2-2019

    Asalamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, nowadays there are many foods like sweets or drinks that have certain indregends that can be made from plants but also animals. The problem is that many times it does not say wether it is made out of plants or animal indregends. If i have a drink for example and there is something in it that I am doubtful.. More