Search In Fatwa


Is caviar Haraam?


All perfect praise be to Allaah, The Lord of the Worlds. I testify that there is none worthy of worship except Allaah, and that Muhammad is His slave and Messenger. We ask Allaah to exalt his mention as well as that of his family and all his companions.

If you mean by caviar the eggs of fish, then there is no religious objection in buying or eating them. In principle food is permissible for us to eat unless there is a text that forbids it as Allaah says (which means): {…Who created for you all that is on earth….}[2:29]. Allaah further says (which means): {O mankind eat of that which is lawful and good on the earth.}[2:168]. Therefore, it is permissible to buy and eat the caviar as long as one is not extravagant. Imaam Ibn Hajar Al-Haythami may  Allaah  have  mercy  upon  him stated in Al-Fataawi Al-Fiqhiyah Al-Kubraa, that it is permissible to eat caviar which is the eggs of fish.

Allaah knows best.

Related Fatwa